Constellation Collection, Half Complete (so far)

I’ll admit, I have a very short attention span when it comes to painting. It’s how I knew early on I would never make comics; whenever I tried, I could never get past 15 pages or so. Always, after I’ve made a dent into a project, I get restless and have to switch to something else, probably painted in a different medium to boot.

So, I decided to challenge myself- 12 paintings, done in a relatively timely fashion, with one theme, and stylistically cohesive. Definitely a difficult task!

Well, here I am, half way through! I can feel some creeping restlessness, but I’m also excited to tackle the next constellation (Libra, for all you scale signs out there). Here are the first six signs:

aries_small
Aries, the Ram
taurus_small
Taurus, the Bull
gemini_small
Gemini, the Twins
cancer_small
Cancer, the Crab
leo_small
Leo, the Lion
Virgo_small
Virgo, the Virgin

As you could probably tell from the in-progress pictures I’ve been posting for the last few weeks, these guys were all painted in black ink, my favorite thing lately. That definitely makes it easier to keep going! Hopefully I’ll be posting the second set soon. In the meantime, keep an eye out for more progress photos!

4 thoughts on “Constellation Collection, Half Complete (so far)

  1. These all look great! And you are half way through your challenge. I love ink so I especially love your control of all the tones in the black ink.

    I get restless too and find challenges keep me focused. My current one, however, has fallen by the wayside because of time issues so I need to find something smaller and easier to work on.

Leave a Reply

