Personality Shift

I’m a bit late with this update, but life has a funny habit of getting in the way sometimes.

Last year, I was invited to participate in Light Grey Art Lab’s Great Personality show. LGAL has quickly become one of my favorite galleries to produce work for; they always have incredibly creative ideas that I would be surprised to see elsewhere. This is the third show of theirs I’ve had the honor of participating in (the first two being the Macro & Micro and GIRLS: Fact + Fiction shows), and this one was a doozy! The artwork for the show was all done with one goal in mind- to be used later in a series of four interactive dating games inspired by the Meyers-Briggs personality types.

For the games, I had the chance to provide two background locations; a classroom, and a theatre prop room.

clarkson_classroom_small

clarkson_proproom

In order to save myself from some massive headaches later, I did both scenes in black ink to make a greyscale image first, then scanned them and added color later on Photoshop. I think working like that made it easier for me to find cohesive color palettes for images with so many little bits and pieces and stuff going on.

I was a bit worried about how the backgrounds would gel with the characters painted by other artists, but the team at LGAL did a wonderful job both with the plotting of the story and with matching characters to scenery.

Screen Shot 2014-01-25 at 10.30.20 PM

All in all, it was a great experience to work on such a cool project. Here’s a link to the first of the four games put out; I highly recommend you take a look and play it for a while, it’s a very engrossing choose your own adventure style game! Just remember to save every once in a while so you can go back and explore other endings.

11 thoughts on “Personality Shift

  1. I love the perspective on the top one! The angles on the desks and counter top are so pleasing to look at. I love that everything is leading me to the window (certainly how I always felt in school). 🙂

Leave a Reply

