A Return to the North

To my supreme joy, I was able to spend this past weekend up in Santa Cruz with some of my closest friends. It was a wonderful weekend; we peered into tide pools, watched monarch butterflies pass through on their migration path, partied with some UCSC students, hung out in some nets up in the redwood trees, and insisted to our non-coffee drinking host that, yes, we did need coffee before getting the day started. I was even close enough to the bay area to meet up with my parents for dinner. I never realize how much I miss them until I see them again.

Because I’ve been taking a small painting break to prepare for some larger projects, I’ve decided to share some of my trip photos. It’s safe to say, after a day at the beach, I’m inspired to make a little book about Crab City, USA.

A teeny tiny baby crab! Once you started really looking, there were tons and tons of crabs all over the place. Crab City, USA indeed.
Here is a crab covering himself in bubbles. We spent the rest of the trip and most of the drive back to LA imitating him.
If only you could see what was in those tide pools! Sea anemones, crabs, hermit crabs, fish, sea urchins, starfish, shrimp!

The amazingly beautiful UCSC campus. When we got there, I immediately began to feel as though I had made a mistake in picking a college 6ish years ago.

I wish I could show you some of the monarch butterflies! But they a) are difficult to photograph with a phone from several feet away, and b) it seemed… wrong to focus on photographing them instead of just enjoying them. Like it was a moment for personal meditation, and most definitely not for documenting my vacation.

I’m sure I’ll be back soon with a painting, and I can’t wait to share what I’ve been working on!

One thought on “A Return to the North

Leave a Reply

