Houndstooth, Houndsteeth

Unlike my last post, which was about a spur-of-the-moment idea, this has been floating around in my head for some time. I’ve been feeling anxious all night (it is currently 1:30 a.m.) because my job is getting in the way of my career. Sigh. So to work out some nerves, I decided to get something on my art to-do list done.

A literal houndstooth pattern!

For those of you who may not be familiar, this is what a normal houndstooth looks like:I printed out the pattern, and started sketching a bit over it. After deciding what I was going to do, I grabbed some reference…

Isn’t this picture amazing?

And started drawing, making sure to loosely adhere to the pattern as I went.

Then I just transfered my drawing directly onto my paper…

and painted them!

Then I fired up Photoshop (no easy task, my computer has been running very slowly lately) and assembled them:Pretty neat, no?

9 thoughts on “Houndstooth, Houndsteeth

  1. Hey there! In France we call this type of pattern “Pied de poule” which means “Chicken feet”. But it would work too if you draw it !

Leave a Reply

