Fly Away, Little Bats

I just received my first-ever order from Spoonflower, and it looks great! For those who don’t know, Spoonflower lets you upload images and print them on to many different types of fabric, so you can, say, make the perfect pineapple fabric to reupholster some chairs, or order some Stegosaurus fabric to make an awesome dress with. As you may have noticed recently, I’ve been playing around with making some repeat patterns. So the next logical step was to see how they looked on fabric!

Looks pretty nice to me! To give you an idea of how small they are, this swatch is about 4.5×4″.

I wasn’t expecting the bats to be so teeny-tiny, but it’s growing on me! I think they would look better on a smoother fabric, like a quilting fabric, than canvas.

Here’s the size of the repeat, for reference:

I’m thinking it would be a good idea to try printing out the design on a piece of paper first; an inch or two seems so big on a computer screen, when it is actually quite small.

11 thoughts on “Fly Away, Little Bats

    1. I don’t have any plans at the moment, and my sewing supplies are all in storage. 😦
      But it would make a cute t-shirt for a little stuffed animal!

      1. No, I don’t have a blog but just got the fabric in and will definitely send you a pic when it’s finished!

Leave a Reply

