Cats In Hats

20 of them.

I had done a sketch for fun of cats in hats, but quickly realized that not only did I want to do them justice, but I also most certainly had the time to do so.

I spent the past week house-sitting, and took the opportunity to glue myself to Turner Classic Movies. I watched: The Harvey Girls, Ace In The Hole, The Andromeda Strain, Them!, East Of Eden, A Star Is Born, Arabian Nights, Topkapi, The Shanghai Gesture, Love Is A Many Splendored Thing, Flying Tigers, 55 Days At Peking, The Hawaiians, and The Right Stuff. I also fell asleep during The Man Who Would Be King and woke up halfway through Lawrence Of Arabia. So that’s…. 14 movies in 8 days, not counting the ones I slept through? Not bad! I still don’t quite get the appeal of Judy Garland (or James Dean, to be honest), but I am now most certainly a Charlton Heston fan.

Of course, I didn’t watch all these movies (or paint all these cats) alone. I had some assistance.

Rama
Finn

I sound like a crazy cat lady, don’t I?

12 thoughts on “Cats In Hats

  1. Ugh, I have to stop roaming the Art blogs; you guys are too much.

    These sketches look fantastic; are you doing this for fun or is it for some kind of children’s book or ad?

    This stuff is too good to be on just a blog. :/

    Anyway, thanks so much for sharing!

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you like them! And I wish someone was paying me, but for now, the cats are just for fun. 😉

    1. I do have a print for sale, but I want to work on adding a little color to the cats, or maybe even making a pattern to print on fabric.

    1. Ouf, that’s a tough question! The Harvey Girls was definitely the most fun to watch; it even has a 19 year-old Angela Lansbury as a saloon dancer. You can’t top that.

      I appreciated The Andromeda Strain more than I thought I would, given how slow and unexciting most of the movie is. The Hawaiians was a good, epic story, but I felt it would have made a much better miniseries; even at about 2 hrs 15 min, it had a very sudden ending.

Leave a Reply

