How Refreshing!

After paying $50 or so to keep my website up and running for another year, I decided to give it a facelift. To justify spending the money on it, I suppose. What’s the point of keeping a website if it’s out of date?

After a few hours of tweaking, I’m loving how it looks.

Before:

And after:

It’s very similar (I said facelift, not an overhaul), but I think it looks much nicer. It’s easier to read my name up at the top, and I have a functional header for the first time in forever, which opens up space in the nav. And I think the black and white is a bit more sleek and grown-up looking than the blue. There are also three new images in the gallery (nothing that hasn’t been featured already on the blog, sorry!).

All that’s left to do is make up some better looking type down in the navigation. I like the plants down at the bottom, but it makes the type a little hard to read. But that’s a project for another day.

Go check it out for yourself if you’re interested!

4 thoughts on “How Refreshing!

    1. Haha, no, I don’t understand Illustrator at all. I painted the header in three pieces (wood, plants, letters), then put them in Photoshop. Put the letters on a layer above the wood, selected them, moved the selected area to the wood layer, then deleted the area. I hope that makes sense!

      1. yeaa i understand lol i understand photoshop much more then illustrator. Thats cool tho! Just always figured clean designs such as yours were created in illustrator. I forgot you can actually create the piece first then scan online to work on it further. Which makes a ton of a lot more sense.

Leave a Reply

