WHAT IS A WEEK-END?

I’m a huge Downton Abbey fan. Huge. I love the upstairs-downstairs aspect, I like cheering on Anna and Mr. Bates, and I like hissing whenever Thomas comes on screen. Because I knew I couldn’t spend all of my time rewatching the show, I worked out some of my fan energy by drawing a few of the characters instead of doing any of the paintings I’m supposed to be doing. Oh well.

These little portraits are all based on the characters during season 2, so if you haven’t watched that yet, beware! There are a few major spoilers ahead. I’ll also sort them from least to most spoilery.

Dr. Clarkson, in his WWI getup. It seems more and more like he just isn’t a capable doctor, which, combined with the way he speaks, reminds me of Dr. Spaceman on 30 Rock.

I actually really related to Edith in the first season, probably the most out of all the characters. But girlfriend has turned into suck a fuck-up, she can’t even carry a plot line for more than two episodes. This is one of her outfits from when she helps out Mr. Drake with his farm work (wink-wink, nudge-nudge).

O’Brien grew on me this season. The accident she caused last season seems to have really changed her; she even tries to be Thomas’ friend instead of just a whining partner. I loved seeing her talk to Lang, and care for Lady Grantham to atone for what she did to her.

Daisy, in her wedding outfit. Poor, poor, stupid Daisy. I’m not sure on how I feel about her. I understand that she felt like she was doing something wrong, but I’m sure the thought of her back home really helped William out. Marrying him was maybe a step too far, but good on her for not taking the widower’s pension.

Sybil and Branson, united at last! Although Branson really did all the waiting while Sybil made up her mind. But it was worth the wait, their so cute together! I hope their relationship can survive Sybil’s transition from pheasant shot on the family grounds to bubble and squeak.

6 thoughts on “WHAT IS A WEEK-END?

Leave a Reply

