THE DECEMBERISTS SERIES

I just graduated from CCA(C) with a degree in illustration back in May. Scary, right? But I decided it was about time to share my thesis work with anyone who may be interested.

My thesis was a collection of pieces based on songs by one of my favorite bands, The Decemberists. I chose pieces from throughout their catalog, spanning from their first album, Castaways and Cutouts, to their latest, The King is Dead. Their music is some of the most inspiring I have come across; each song tells a rich, nuanced story. The lyrics can be vague enough to be open to interpretation, but contain enough specificity to make a detail freak like me joyfully hunt down reference images of columbine flowers and mistlethrushes.

A Cautionary Song

So be kind to your mother

Remember what she does when you’re asleep

The Mariner’s Revenge Song

“There is one thing I must say to you

As you sail across the sea

Always your mother will watch over you

As you avenge this wicked deed”

Won’t Want for Love (Margaret in the Taiga)

Mistlethush, mistlethrush,

lay me down in the underbrush

My naked feet grow weary with the dusk

January Hymn

What were the words I meant to say before she left?

When I could see her breath leave where she was going to

Other pieces from the series, such as The Crane Wife, We Both Go Down Together, and From My Own True Love (Lost at Sea), can be seen here (including a few close-ups for details) on my website.

3 thoughts on “THE DECEMBERISTS SERIES

  1. Pingback: Tumbler Archive

Leave a Reply

